I’m Back

It has been a ridiculously long time since I’ve updated this blog. Lots has happened since then. My last post talked about my dog, Maggie, having IVDD. She made a complete recovery and zips around just fine; in fact, last time we were at the vet I mentioned that she was 13 and the vet tech was stunned. She doesn’t seem that old, and at every exam our vet comments on how she’s showing no signs of aging, save a little cloudiness in her eyes.

I also left my job at the University. Nine years of a toxic work environment took it’s toll on me – issues with my neck and shoulders (from tension), heart burn, a bout with shingles, and finally chronic migraines. I gave my notice and left, with no other offer lined up. That was scary. But the heart-burn is gone and the migraines are mostly resolved. They still happen, but it’s more like once a month now instead of once a week or more.

I am working part-time these days, which is both a blessing and a curse. I have more free time, which is lovely. The lack of income, on the other hand, is difficult. The changing schedule let’s me schedule other activities without having to use PTO, which is great, but the varying schedule makes setting up a regular exercise routine challenging. I’d love to get something full-time there, but so far I’ve struck out.

I’ve changed my way of eating and am eating a low-carb diet these days. So far it’s allowed me to lose over 17 pounds in 7 1/2 weeks. My running is going better, with less pain in my bum shin (not having as much weight landing on that bone is good). I feel better, with more consistent, steady energy-levels instead of the ups and downs that sugars cause. I miss a few things, like pasta and potatoes, but I’m confident that once I hit my goal weight I can add those things in from time to time without ill effect. They just need to be a sometimes food rather than a regular food.

The one thing that’s not going well is my writing. I’m not sure I can call it writer’s block – I have plenty of ideas, but I have trouble sticking with any of them to finish a draft. I blamed it on stress from the university job but it’s been almost 18 months since I left that place and there’s been no improvement. I was doing NaNoWriMo and I started strong but now I’m nearly 7000 words in the hole and unsure if I can climb out of that deficit. I also know the week of Thanksgiving will prove difficult for finding writing time. I’m scheduled for 9 1/2 hour days so that I can fit all my hours into 3 days. I meant to build up a cushion for those days, but again, I’m not sure how doable that is now.

Thanksgiving is an issue in our house. I am trying to stick to my new way of eating, but my husband wants to have all the usual Thanksgiving foods – sausage stuffing, cranberry salad, green bean casserole. None of those are things I can eat if I stay on plan (he has not joined me in the new way of eating). The other issue is we wouldn’t eat them just for the one meal. All those recipes make a ton of food and we usually eat left-overs for 2 or 3 days after the holiday. I’m not sure what to do. I don’t want to ruin his Thanksgiving, but I also don’t want to ruin my healthier life-style. I’ve done well resisting temptation, despite the break room at work constantly being filled with sugary snacks, but having all those dishes in my house would be trying as they’re all things I love too.  It’s quite the dilemma.

 

 

Leave a comment