Book Review: Wandering Soul by Cassandra Chandler

5 out of  5 stars

I read this in a single day. I neglected my own writing (and some other things) in favor of reading this. That should tell you how well and truly hooked I was by it. 🙂
I’m not normally a big reader of romance, but I’ve been looking forward to this one since I first heard about. Time travel, the Phantom of the Opera – what’s not to love about that combination? The book did NOT disappoint. I loved it. There were the usual things you expect from a romance – immediate physical attraction between the main characters, lots of misunderstandings which serve to make them hesitant and then serve to put up roadblocks between them, some jealousy, and issues from their pasts which make things difficult for them. But the fact that these things are an expected part of a romance didn’t detract from how enjoyable the read was. Elsa and Dante are well-drawn characters, fully fleshed out and believable. Their attraction never felt forced. Their difficulties felt genuine. Watching them overcome their obstacles was immensely satisfying.
The book ended on a VERY intriguing epilogue and I understand this is the start of a series. I can’t wait to see where it leads! I hope it will offer us more time with Dante and Elsa, as well as giving us a chance to get to know more about the other characters – Jazz, Garrett, and Winston. They were supporting characters but I loved them and can’t wait to know more about them.
This was a fantastic read and I loved it. I’m just sad that I’ve finished already!

Leave a Reply

