Heading to Camp!

Camp NaNoWriMo that is! That’s right – you don’t have to wait for November to do NaNoWriMo. The great folks at the Office of Letters and Light offer Camp NaNoWriMo as well. This year there are camping sessions in April and July. Camp is a bit different than November’s NaNoWriMo. For one thing, you choose your word-count goal. Want to do 50,000? Go ahead. Want to do less (or more) than that? That’s fine too. You decide! The other thing that’s different is that at camp there are cabins. A cabin is a group of fellow writers. You can create your own cabin or join one with friends, or be randomly assigned to a cabin (or, if cabins aren’t your thing, you can go it alone).

I’m very excited to be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this April. I’m using the camp to complete my first draft of my current manuscript, tentatively titled Ghostly Witness. I’ve set my word-count goal at 30,000 and I think that’s realistic both to complete in April and complete the first draft. I’m also excited to be part of the Cabin of Creative Misfits, started by Natasha Raulerson. We’ve got different genres and different word-count goals, but that doesn’t matter.  We’re all in this together.  I’m looking forward to getting to know my bunk-mates, cheering folks on, and seeing all of us succeed! I’ve seen some of my bunk-mates descriptions of their novels and I want to read them all! It’s going to be a good Camp!

Leave a Reply

