Finding Time for Nothing

Last week I jotted down some notes about what I wanted to write about today. I had a long litany of all the things I do: half-marathon training, running a ghost-hunting group with my husband, mommying two mini dachshunds, working full-time, the recent development of an actual social life… It was a long litany of why it’s so hard to find time to write. But I realized as I spent a couple of hours in my home office/gym yesterday trying to get words to come that the issue isn’t finding writing time. I can and I do find time to write. No, the issue is something else. I have a copy of a Calvin & Hobbes cartoon by my desk at work which says “There’s never time to do all the nothing you want.” I thought of that quote as I pulled out my notes for this blog and it hit me: THAT is the issue.

I love running. It gives me a sense of accomplishment like nothing else when I complete a tough workout, run a new distance, or set a personal best. I love the ghost-hunting team my husband and I have put together. They are just the right mix of serious and goofy, and they manage to make even the tedious parts of the hobby a lot of fun. They’re also the reason why I have a social life now. Whether we’re playing Cards Against Humanity till the wee hours or hanging out in a bar watching one of our team sing, we’re enjoying one another’s company. My job is, on bad days, a necessary evil, but there are also good days when I get to enjoy my co-workers, talk with some of our students, and feel like I did something worthwhile. None of this is the problem.

The problem is I am missing my nothing time. As a writer, nothing time is important. Our brains need that down time to wander, to discover the solution to plot problems, hear a new character’s voice, or find a new idea. My challenge is to figure out how to balance all these excellent somethings in my life with nothing time. I don’t think I’m alone in that challenge. We’re all juggling work, hobbies, spouses, kids, pets, friends… We wouldn’t trade any of it away (well, maybe the jobs, at least on bad days). But are we giving ourselves our much-needed nothing time? If not, how can we work some of it in? I believe if I can ease off the schedule a bit, give myself some more nothing time, I’ll have more productive writing times. I’m going to try it, and we’ll see how it works.

Leave a Reply

